Casting Announced For Hairspray

Written by on 11th March 2024

Casting has been announced for Hairspray which will be bopping into Wales Millennium Centre this summer as part of a tour of the UK and Ireland.

Neil Hurst (The Full Monty, Evita) will be starring as Edna Turnblad, with Gina Murray (Chicago, The Full Monty) playing the role of Velma Von Tussle. Michelle Ndegwa (a vocalist for the Gorillaz) playing Motormouth Maybelle and Tracy Turnblad will be played by Alexandra Emmerson-Kirby.

Soloman Davy (Grease, Clueless The Musical) will be playing Link Larkin, with Declan Egan (Jersey Boys, The Book of Mormon) playing Corny Collins, and Katlo (High Society, Annie Get Your Gun) playing Little Inez. Reece Richards (Hairspray, Motown) will be playing the role of Seaweed with Allana Taylor (Cinderella, Jack and the Beanstalk) as Amber Von Tussle.

They will be joined by Ben Anderson, Grace Anyiam, Nina Bell, Joseph Bristow, Vanessa Dumatey, Rebecca French, Stuart Hickey, Jaiden Lodge, Olly Manley, Sasha Monique, Jacob Smith and Issy Wilman. Further casting will be announced soon.

The timeless story of Hairspray centres around heroine Tracy Turnblad, who has big hair, a big heart, and big dreams to dance her way onto national TV, and into the heart of teen idol Link Larkin. When Tracy becomes a local star, she is able to use her newfound fame to fight for liberation, tolerance, and interracial unity in Baltimore. But can she win equality – and Link’s heart – without denting her ’do?

This iconic musical comedy has been breaking box office records and delighting audiences in the West End, on Broadway and on the big screen since 1988. Hairspray features some of musical theatre’s best hit songs including Welcome To The 60sYou Can’t Stop The Beat and Good Morning Baltimore by Academy Award, Tony and Emmy winning duo Marc Shaiman (music and lyrics) and Scott Wittman (lyrics).

The creative team includes Directors Brenda Edwards and Paul Kerryson, Choreography by Drew McOnie, Musical Supervising and Arrangement by Ben Atkinson, Set and Costume Design by Takis, Lighting Design by Philip Gladwell, Sound Design by Ben Harrison, Video Design by George Reeves, Musical Direction and Supervision by Richard Atkinson, Projection Design by George Reeve, Casting by Grindrod Burton and Resident Director is Juliet Gough.

Hairspray is produced by Mark Goucher, Matthew Gale, and Laurence Myers.

Current track



Current show


16:00 18:59

Current show


16:00 18:59