Public launch of “We, the People: The case for Radicalism Federalism.”

Written by on 14th January 2021

On Thursday 14th January 2021, First Minister Mark Drakeford MS, will give an introduction to a new report calling for radical constitutional reform in the UK. 

The report prepared by a voluntary and independent think tank of Labour Party and independent members from Wales, Scotland and England sets out some of the reasons for reforming the UK, the principles on which reform should be based and the process for getting there. 

It calls for the UK to become a voluntary association of nations where sovereignty is held by each nation and then pooled for common purpose, a fair distribution of resources and a guarantee of common basic socio economic and environmental standards. 

It promotes the necessity of a new constitutional settlement, devolution for England, a continuation of the decentralisation of power across the UK and a recognition of the vital importance within this process of the role of local government.  

Pontypridd’s Senedd member, Mick Antoniw MS, one of the contributors to the report said: 

The need for urgent and radical reform the UK is beyond question. The UK Government’s strategy of recentralising power in London will lead to further destabilisation of the UK and is doomed to failure. 

“The solution is greater decentralisation of power and empowerment of people and communities through radical federalism. 

“Until now, the debate over reform has been dominated by the choice of a sparse and ill thought-out model of independence or a hard-line Unionism. We believe there is a better way. A progressive reform which puts people and communities first, based on a voluntary union of nations coming together with common purpose and principles, a radical federalism.

“This report is a first step, a contribution towards that debate and a constitutional convention.” 

Current track



Current show

Community Link

10:00 12:59

Current show

Community Link

10:00 12:59

Upcoming show

Afternoons on GTFM

13:00 15:59