Current track



Current show

Valleys Breakfast

6:00 am 10:00 am

Current show

Valleys Breakfast

6:00 am 10:00 am

Premiership changes & Ponty Fixtures

Written by on 28th June 2017

The WRU Board has confirmed changes to the Principality Premiership for the next two seasons in order to meet the changing needs of the clubs.

In the first half of the season, the 16-team semi-professional league will be split geographically into two east and west eight-team leagues, with the clubs playing each other home and away.

The clubs will be split into east and west Wales leagues with RGC 1404 joining the west Wales league.

This will guarantee more meaningful local derbies up to the New Year before all teams come together for the second half of the season.

Each club will then play the other 15 teams either home or away. At the split, points will be allocated to clubs based on league positions so the winners of the east and west leagues will go into the second half of the season with eight points, the clubs in second place will carry seven points into the 16-team league down to the eighth placed clubs who will carry one point, this will ensure all clubs remain in the race to be crowned Premier Division Winners.

Every club will have a guaranteed 29 league matches during the season. Principality Premiership clubs will continue to work with the Regions to select Regional Premiership Select XVs for the British & Irish Cup, while the Foster’s Challenge Cup will not take place.

First few fixtures of the season for Pontypridd

26th August 2017

Pontypridd v Bedwas

2nd September 2017

Ebbw Vale v Pontypridd

9th September 2017

Newport v Pontypridd

16th September 2017

Pontypridd v Merthyr

23rd September 2017

Bargoed v Pontypridd

Principality Premiership East
Cross Keys
Ebbw Vale

Principality Premiership West
Carmarthen Quins
RGC 1404

Tagged as