GTFM 107.9 FM

From the Valleys Newsroom...

Bus Pass Help

RCT County Borough Council is staging 32 public events throughout November (listed below) so residents can ‘drop in’ for help renewing their Concessionary Bus Passes.

Transport for Wales is working with the Welsh Government and Councils throughout Wales to roll out a new-style Concessionary Travel Card by December 31, 2019.

The council’s targeted assistance for residents who may have problems filling in the on-line application form also includes help at Libraries every Tuesday and Thursday, while all One4aLL Centres have limited pre-booked sessions available.

You can also apply directly to Transport for Wales via their website – www.tfw.gov.uk/travelcards. TfW warn it will take at least a month for new cards to arrive once the application is successfully completed, due to high demand.

In order to complete their applications at any of the events, residents must bring with them their:

  • Existing bus pass number.
  • Home postcode.
  • National Insurance number.
  • Date of birth.

Council Drop-In Event Locations and times:

Date Time Location
Monday, Nov 4 9.30am-
12.30pm
Morrisons, Porth
Monday, Nov 4 1.30pm-
4.30pm
Hawthorn Leisure Centre
Tuesday, Nov 5 9.30am-
11.30am
Garth Olwg Lifelong Learning Centre,
Church Village
Tuesday, Nov 5 1.30pm-
4.30pm
Aberdare Town Centre
Wednesday, Nov 6 9.30am-
11.30am
Canolfan Pentre Community Hub
Wednesday, Nov 6 1.30pm-
4.30pm
Llantrisant Leisure Centre
and Library
Thursday, Nov 7 10am-
midday
Treorchy Library
Thursday, Nov 7 2pm-4pm Cwmaman Welfare Hall
Thursday, Nov 7 2pm-4pm Penrhiwceiber Old Age Centre
Friday, Nov 8 10am-
12.30pm
Canolfan Pennar, Mountain Ash
Community Hub
Friday, Nov 8 2pm-4pm Y Hwb Ferndale Community Hub
Monday, Nov 11 9am-11am ASDA Tonypandy
Monday, Nov 11 1pm-4pm Llantwit Fardre Leisure Centre
Tuesday, Nov 1210am-
12.30pm
Abercynon Library
Tuesday, Nov 12 2pm-4pm Rhydyfelin Library
Tuesday, Nov 12 2pm-4pm St Mary and St James Church,
Taff’s Well
Wed, Nov 13 9.30am-
12.30pm
Tesco Aberdare
Wed, Nov 13 2pm-4pm Hirwaun Library
Thurs, Nov 14 9.30am-
11.30am
Cynon Linc, Aberdare
Thurs, Nov 14 1.30pm-
4.30pm
Morrisons, Porth
Friday, Nov 15 9.30am-
12.30pm
Tonyrefail Leisure Centre
Friday, Nov 15 1.30pm-
4.30pm
Pontypridd Town Centre
Monday, Nov 18 9.30am-
12.30pm
Asda Aberdare
Monday, Nov 18 1.30pm-
4.30pm
Canolfan Pennar, Mountain Ash
Community Hub
Tuesday, Nov 19 10am-
midday
Porth Plaza
Wed, Nov 20 10am-
midday
Tylorstown Llanfair Church
(Penrhys)
Wed, Nov 20 10am-
midday
Pontygwaith Community
Centre
Wed, Nov 20 2pm-4pm Welcome to our Woods, The
Old Library (Treherbert)
Thursday, Nov 21 9.30am-
midday
Sainsbury’s Pontypridd
Thursday, Nov 21 1pm-5pm Pontypridd Library
Friday, Nov 22 9am-midday Tonypandy Library
Friday, Nov 22 1pm-3pm Llanharan Drop-in Centre